Mining Engineering

Department Home

The Department was established in the year 1995 and has been in the forefront of mining education, research and consultancy services in India. It is located in close proximity of many mineral and coal mines both opencast and underground. The Department has well qualified faculty and staff dedicated to applied research in the field of Mining Technology, Geomechanics, Mine Environment and Safety Engineering, Solid Fuels and Clean Coal Technology, Mining Geology and Mine Surveying.

The Department has also excellent computing facilities with the state-of-the-art softwares like SURPAC, WipFrag, JK Bench. The academic curricula is continuously revised to keep abreast of the industry needs as well as the vision and an all round development of students is aimed through practical training, field camps and study tours, seminars, project work, inter institute students technical meets and a host of extracurricular activities.

Faculty Members

  • Dr. Soumya Ranjan Mallick
    Qualification: Ph.D.(IIT, Kharagpur) Designation: Assistant Professor, Mining Eng. Department Date of Joining: 20-08-2015 Mob: +91-9437545820 E-mail:,,

    Area of Interest/ Research: Surface Mining, Haul Road Design, Rock mechanics, Mine Hazards, Bulk Utilization of Fly ash in Mining Sector, Geotechnical Engineering, National Mineral Policy

  • Dr. Umakanta Behera
    Qualification: Ph.D.IIT(ISM), Dhanbad Designation: HOD, Mining Eng. Department Date of Joining: 19-08-2015 Mob: +91 9438 7068 02 E-mail:

    Area of Interest/ Research: Slurry Transportation, Mine Backfilling, Mineral Beneficiation

  • Er. Subrat Narayan Das
    Qualification: M.Tech Designation: Lecturer(cont.) , Mining Eng. Department Date of Joining: 26-08-2006 Mob: +91 9437188548 E-mail:
  • Er. Ganesh Kumar Kundu
    Qualification: M.Sc, M.Phil. Designation: Lecturer(Cont.), Mining Eng. Department Date of Joining: 20-10-2011 Mob: +91 9437 8321 51 E-mail:

    Area of Interest/ Research: Ore deposits

  • Mr. Mahesh Munda
    Qualification: M.Tech Designation: Guest Faculty, Mining Eng. Department Date of Joining: 03-07-2023

Programme Offered

  • B.Tech (Mining Engineering)
  • Total no of Seats: 60

Under Graduate Programme

The Department offers a four-year B.Tech. programme in Mining Engineering in eight semesters. All programmes are accredited by the All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE).

  • Name Dr. Umakanta Behera
  • Designation HOD
  • Qualification Ph.D.IIT(ISM)
  • Email
  • Phone +91 9438 7068 02
Know Your updates